Expedition Expedition Navigation Software

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

7/03/2016 1:37 am  #1

Routing

Hello,
I am new to Expedition and I have a few questions:
1>.    I am getting routes that are pretty good off the breeze but as soon as there's an VMG upwind section the results are not very nice with most of the upwind TWA's as high as 3d and the majority of the legs are well above the optimum VMG angles. I'm not really sure what I'm not doing right. Any hints would be appreciated.
2>.    Also any grid based routes I try pretty just go straight and happily go through land. Again not sure why
3>.    I have some marks in a course that I want as part of the course but I can't seem to set to sail one side or the other and calculate a route as a message comes up that I can't do that. Having to "sail to" the mark then takes me off the optimal route line. Any hints.

Cheers and thanks in advance
Rod

7/03/2016 9:41 pm  #2

Re: Routing

Rod, welcome to the community; your questions are good ones that we have been all through at one time or another.  I'll have to interpret your questions, so if I have the interpretations wrong, come back.
1. I'm guessing you mean you can see impossible TWAs upwind like 10 degrees in your Optimum/Results.  Yep, that's because each of the "legs"in a result simply shows point to point, NOT tacks or gybes.  You'll note that on these legs TWAs are bracketed, that means tacking or gybing one or many times to arrive at the next target position;
2. Expedition doesn't allow for the chart the way you can, so either enter intermediate waypoints to keep you off corners (best choice), add Race Notes to block access to areas (second best) or use Land Avoidance (never had much luck with it);