Expedition Expedition Navigation Software

You are not logged in. Would you like to login or register?

5/17/2016 6:41 am  #1

Predict wind GRIBs

i'm a newbie - 
i have a predict wind account - but cannot seem to sort out how to get Expedition to get GRIB files from Predict wind
i click the Precinct wind icon in weather... but nothing happens (laptop is connected to i/net via wireless)

thx and sorry for being thick

Ross

5/17/2016 7:45 am  #2

Re: Predict wind GRIBs

Ross, don't worry you're just going through the same learning curve we all did.  

After you have clicked on (selected) Predictwind on the menu bar, select an area of your chart by clicking and dragging (forms a rectangle)  when you release a dialog box will appear where you can enter your Predictwind credentials.  You can monitor the progress of the download in the menu bar.  When it is complete, click on the ->| Now button.  It will then display the latest weather as downloaded from Predictwind.

5/17/2016 8:19 am  #3

Great - many thanks -
im sure i'll be back with more stupid questions -

Ross
i'm Irish and male (my wife tells me its my genetics causing the stupidiness)

5/17/2016 9:30 am  #4

I'm also Irish and male and I resent that comment !!  http://cdn.boardhost.com/emoticons/wink.png

I may have to have a word with your wife!

5/17/2016 10:09 am  #5

On a related note, I have a source of local wind/current GRIBS for SF BAY I want to import. 

Looking at the MyGrib.csv file format, 
the notes for "hours" and "delay" fields  are somewhat terse.!! hours - eg 24 for once a day! delay - hour period until available!

If I wanted to upload daily wind & tide forecasts at around noon local how would I enter that? (UTC is default?) 

I assume that resolution is specified in degrees? (my file grid is specified at 200 meters..) how accurately does this have to be entered? 

Semiconductor Development Engineer, Retired Viticulturalist, Occasional sailor
"Lioness" 1962 Hinckley Bermuda 40 Custom Yawl